HSHS Medical Group hosted a retirement reception for Robert Juranek, MD, on August 26 at Priority Care South MacArthur in Springfield. Dr. Juranek practiced medicine for 36 years in the Springfield community. He started the first urgent care in the Springfield area in 1984 along with partners Joseph Townsend, MD; Diana Widicus, MD, FAAFP; and William Yu, MD. Dr. Juranek and his partners were the first physicians to join HSHS Medical Group when it was founded in 2009.
“I have known Dr. Juranek as a mentor, colleague and friend for more than 20 years. I admire his dedication to his patients and profession and miss his presence in our clinic,” said Dr. Townsend.
“I have worked with Dr. Juranek for over 35 years,” said Dr. Widicus. “He has taught me a lot about how to successfully practice medicine. He will be deeply missed.”
“We are proud to have had Dr. Juranek as one of our founding physicians in 2009,” said Loren Hughes, MD, president of HSHS Medical Group. “We are grateful for the 36 years of compassionate, patient-first care he has provided to the Springfield community and wish him well in his retirement.”
More than 500 patients and colleagues gathered to wish Dr. Juranek well. Family members who joined the celebration included his wife, Carole; mother-in-law Carolyn; sisters-in-law Maureen, Kathy and Diane; and brother-in-law Michael.

Media Contact

Lori Harlan

Divisional Director of Marketing
HSHS Medical Group
Office: (217) 321-9292
Cell: (217) 321-9292

Latest News

Bone Density Test Now Available to Medicare Patients 60+

 July 28, 2021

HSHS Medical Group in Springfield (2801 Mathers Rd.) now offers dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry, or DEXA, scan bone densitometry testing to Medicare patients age 60 and older. A DEXA scan is...


HSHS Medical Group Awards Provider of the Month to Christopher Sutton, DO

 July 16, 2021

HSHS Medical Group is pleased to award Christopher Sutton, DO, with our July Provider of the Month Award. Dr. Sutton is a pulmonary medicine physician for HSHS Medical Group Multispecialty Care...


HSHS Medical Group Awards Colleague of the Month to Michelle Johnston

 July 15, 2021

HSHS Medical Group is pleased to award Michelle Johnston with our July Colleague of the Month Award. Michelle is a medical assistant for HSHS Medical Group serving Medicare patients in Springfield,...