(EFFINGHAM, IL) – HSHS St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital recently held colleague celebration events during “I Promise Week” (a special St. Anthony’s theme for National Hospital Week), honoring the service of all St. Anthony’s colleagues or Hospital Sisters Health System (HSHS) and Southern Illinois Division (SID) colleagues located in Effingham.  One hundred and twelve colleagues received service awards in recognition of their years of dedicated service for every five years of service to St. Anthony’s, from 5 to 50 years. 
The nation's largest health care event, National Hospital Week, held in early May, dates back to 1921 when it was suggested by a magazine editor who hoped a community-wide celebration would alleviate public fears about hospitals. The celebration, launched in Chicago, succeeded in promoting trust and goodwill among members of the public and eventually spread to facilities across the country.
A prayer service, award ceremony and colleague luncheon were just some of the activities conducted during “I Promise Week” held May 6-10 to honor colleagues. Human Resources Director Vicki Kloeckner shared, “Our ‘I Promise Week’ is an opportunity to recognize all of our dedicated health professionals. We are extremely proud of our team of colleagues and we recognize the important role they play in providing excellent care to our patients and our communities.”
This year, the following St. Anthony’s and HSHS colleagues received awards for their service to the hospital:
50 Years
Norma Shoemaker
45 Years
Diana Conder
Peter Goeckner
40 Years
Roxie Alwardt
Carla Bierman
Helen Broeringmeyer
Renee Keitel
Lisa Mahaffey
Jane Meyer
Yvonne Ruholl
Dianne Schabbing
Connie Worman
35 Years
Carla Davis
James Faber
Lynn Patterson
Gregory Rubsam
30 Years
Kim Deters
Terri Evans
Randolph Henson
Melinda Hull
Laura Martin
25 Years
Sandra Bloemer
Jean Devore
Jan Marcott
Louise Mueller
Debra Murbarger
Steven Rieman
Virginia Spour
Doris Zerrusen           
20 Years
John Althoff
Gregory Bean
Betsy Daugherty
Sandy Feldhake
Sara Hayes
Erin Hennings
Lisa Hoelscher
Rebecca Kistner
Karen Lake
Nicole Locke
Lisa O'Leary
Jeanette Rogers
Dana Silva
Monica Stortzum
Lisa Wetherholt
Tracy Wollin

15 Years
Amanda Berg
Vickie Borries
Helen Doedtman
Douglas Daniels
Maureen Habing
Ann Hollinshead
Dawn Hoover
Michael Janis
Autumn McCormick
Theresa Miller
Linda Murray
Tom Neihls
Patricia Ramsey
Jamie Roberts
Jeremiah Roberts
Patricia Schabbing
Sarah Schumacher
Kay Sperry
Adam Storm
10 Years
Kristie Bailey
Lisa Bayles
Brenda Bloemer
Matthew Brown
Ashley Cobble
Kirsten Daugherty
Karla Dixon
Leah Finley
Steven Fulk
Kenneth Harris
Sherrill Harris
Amy Miller
Chelsey Schackmann
Ashley Sloan
Donna Smith
Angela Spour
Laura Thull
Charles Veatch Jr.
Deborah Wright
Jacqueline Wright
5 Years
Karla Atchley
Renee Beccue
Billy Beer
Tyler Bloemer
Kristin Brown
Thomas Frauli
Mary Fuesting
Jenetia Homann
Christy Hunter
Heather Kernan
Destiny Koester
Ryan Lemke
Jessica Lewis
Jackie McConnell
Adrian Nowitzke
John Nugent
Kimberly Ochs
Julie Ohnesorge
Jessica Powers
Janet Probst
Catherine Rothrock-Reel
Cody Scott
Kassaundra Slifer
Ma Elena Sparks
Caitlin Sudkamp
Diana Swanson
Christina Zerites
St. Anthony's Memorial Hospital thanks all hospital colleagues for their dedicated service to the hospital. 
Photo: Colleagues present for a photo of those celebrating 25 to 50 years of service were (front row, seated, left to right) Dianne Schabbing, Jane Meyer and Roxie Alwardt for 40 years of service; Norma Shoemaker for 50 years; Diana Conder and Peter Goeckner for 45 years of service; Greg Rubsam for 35 years of service; (back row, standing, left to right) Jan Marcott, and Virginia Spour for 25 years of service; Connie Worman for 40 years of service; Melinda Hull, Laura Martin and Terri Evans, for 30 years of service; Debra Murbarger, Jean Devore and Louise Mueller for 25 years of service. See the corresponding article for a complete list of those being honored by HSHS St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital for their years of service.

Media Contact

Brad Ochiltree

Manager, Marketing & Communications
HSHS Illinois
Office: (217) 464-1161

Latest News

Let's Celebrate!

 May 7, 2021

HSHS St. Anthony's celebrates National Hospital Week and National Nurses Week


Hospital recognized with 'A' safety grade

 April 30, 2021

HSHS St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital Nationally Recognized with an ‘A’ for the Spring 2021 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade.


Cram the Car food drive donates to Catholic Charities

 April 28, 2021

HSHS Illinois Home Care "Cram the Cars" collected donations for Catholic Charities