You and Your Baby


A global program sponsored by the World Health Organization (WHO) and the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), the BFHI encourages and recognizes hospitals and birthing centers that offer an optimal level of care for breastfeeding mothers and their babies. Based on the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding, this award recognizes birth facilities that offer mothers the information, confidence and skills needed to successfully initiate and continue breastfeeding their babies. Many of these practices also help to promote bonding between mom and baby regardless of feeding choice, so all moms and babies benefit from the Baby-Friendly care.


The Baby-Friendly Designation


The Baby-Friendly designation is awarded after a rigorous on-site survey is completed and can only be maintained by continuing to practice the Ten Steps as demonstrated by quality processes.
Baby-Friendly care focuses on keeping the mom and baby together. This practice helps to stabilize the baby more quickly, enhances bonding between mom and baby and supports successful breastfeeding.

These practices include:

  • Minimal separation of mother and baby

  • Sacred Hour after delivery for undisturbed bonding

  • Skin-to-skin contact immediately after birth

  • Rooming in 24 hours a day

  • No pacifiers given to breastfeeding babies

  • All staff trained in breastfeeding support

  • Ongoing support available after discharge

  • Education of families on bonding with baby

  • For more information on BFHI and the Baby-Friendly designation, please go to Baby-Friendly is a trademark of the United States Fund for UNICEF and is awarded by Baby-Friendly USA in East Sandwich, MA.