Grains and starches allowed in a gluten-free diet include:
- Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
- Pure corn tortillas
- Other gluten-free foods include:
- Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
- Most dairy products
- Wine and distilled liquors, ciders and spirits
Fortunately for bread and pasta lovers with celiac disease, there are an increasing number of gluten-free products on the market. If you can't find any at your local bakery or grocery store, check with a celiac support group or the Internet for availability. In fact, there are gluten-free substitutes for many gluten-containing foods.