Update HSHS to remain in-network for Illinois Aetna click here to read more

Nursing Exemplar Awardees named

May 25, 2022 

In honor of National Nurses Week, HSHS St. Elizabeth’s Hospital hosted a Nursing Exemplar Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, May 11. Hospital colleagues and medical staff members were asked to submit nominations in seven categories. Below is the list of winners honored during the ceremony: 

Nurse Leader of the Year 
Kacey Frederking, RN
Intensive Care Unit

Charge Nurse of the Year
Julie Bryant, RN
Intensive Care Unit

Preceptor of the Year 
Nicole Howard, RN
Medical Surgery 

Rookie of the Year
Matt James, RN

Educator of the Year
Lleyna Gorka, RN
Staff Education

Partner in Nursing 
Tyler Hendrix, CNA
Medical Surgery

Excellence in Nursing 
Angela Capps, RN - ED 
Shelby Gray, RN - Medical Surgery
Michelle Mehring, RN - Division Float Pool
Mathew Ostendorf, RN - Division Float Pool
Amanda Warwick, RN - Surgical Services

“Nurses here at St. Elizabeth’s have had a special impact on our community and continue to do so, through this pandemic. National Nurses and Hospital Week is an opportunity to celebrate our dedicated nurses and all colleagues for the care and respect they show each other and our patients,” said Regina Peterson, chief nursing officer of St. Elizabeth’s Hospital. “To be nominated by your peers speaks volumes about the dedication, competence and care shown by each of these honorees and I am proud to have them be part of our St. Elizabeth’s family.” 

Please join HSHS and St. Elizabeth’s administration in thanking these health care professionals for their dedication, compassion and commitment to excellence. To apply for a position at St. Elizabeth’s, visit www.careers.hshs.org

Nursing Exemplar Awardees named